Tank Questions -- Yay I'm upgrading! :D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JessieVB

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok, so I'm super excited because my little sister and I are going to be setting up a tank hopefully by May. I'm not completely new to having an aquarium, but I am new to a lot of what her and I want to do with this tank.

Here's the Plan so far though:
30-50 gallon tank
Gravel substrate
Plants (Anubis nana, Aponogeton, java ferns, suggestions?)
Filter (suggestions needed)
Terra cotta pots

Fish:
2-4 African Dwarf frogs
5-10 Female bettas
5 Corys
5 or more Zebra danios
Some MTS

I want to keep all small-ish fish, so nothing larger than 3" in length when its an adult. So I'm open to any suggestions; the sis and I would really like to have the tank be more betta and ADF centered though. And plants need to be low-light, low-maintance cause I'll only be there to look after the tank in the summer, on holidays, and about 1 or 2 a month on the weekends.

Also, I want to do a predominately gravel substrate, but I'm open to doing a gravel mix. I've never had a planted tank, so I'll have to take a look at Purrbox's article which I've heard is extremely helpful. I have the aponegton now, but its in a 1 gal. tank with my male betta. . . so, hopefully it'll do ok for about 3 or so months until I can move it over and give the betta a plant more appropriate for the size of his tank.

Also, another question... I have a family friend that has a large property with petrified wood that has only ever been exposed to the elements. Can petrified wood be used in an aquarium?

First, get the biggest tank you can afford and have space for. I don't know anyone who ever said, Gee, I wish I'd bought a smaller tank" a year after setting up! ;)The most common sizes in the range you mentioned are 29, 40, and 55 gal.