Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-08-2019, 08:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
ImBettaThanCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 115
Tank transfer

I've been running my 20 gal tank for more than a year now, and in that amount of time, a lot of my fish(there used to be 12 originally) have died (sorry, I know that its a lot of deaths, and I tried my best but the majority died from causes that I'm inexperienced with.) Anyway, there are 4 fish remaining, 2 platys and 2 zebra danios. The 20 gal is now much too big for them, so I'm planning on moving them into a 5 gallon tank that I already have set up, but not cycled.

Now for the question: I bought a sponge filter to use for the new 5 gal, and I was wondering if I had to cycle that filter in the new tank, or just run it in the 20 gal for a month, and that would be enough to cycle it. Would that work? Because after all cycling a tank is really just growing bacteria on the filter right? So as long as the filter has bacteria on it, I can just move it into the new tank without any issues. And of course some of the water from the 20 gal is going into the new one to avoid shocking the fish in any way.
__________________

__________________
ImBettaThanCool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 06:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 662
The larger the tank the easier it is to keep stable. I'm not sure moving them would be best. Are both your platys males or females (or 1 of each)? Danios may not be the best schoolers but they still like to be in groups of at least 6.
If you 100% think moving them will solve your problems then yes, as long as your filter pad hasn't dried out then you can use it to establish beneficial bacteria in your new tank. Objects will have more bb on them than the tank water will.
If not we (this group) are always here to help keep your 20 gallon tank going and answer any questions or concerns.
__________________

__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 97
Moving those guys into a 5gal will then be forcing them into a tank thats far to small for them.
However, the answer to your question is- yes you can put a sponge filter in the new tank for a while to cycle it with good bacterial. It also helps to use some of the water from the old tank as well as substrate and plants if you can.

Ive been doing that for ever and my cycles are setup in a week or so like that.
__________________
50Gal Planted- 10Gal RCS Planted
6 Julii corys, 4f 2m Furcata Rainbows, 2f 1m Bose Rainbow, 3 mystery snail
Lokilow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 05:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: In between Detroit and Ann Arbor
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImBettaThanCool View Post
I've been running my 20 gal tank for more than a year now, and in that amount of time, a lot of my fish(there used to be 12 originally) have died (sorry, I know that its a lot of deaths, and I tried my best but the majority died from causes that I'm inexperienced with.) Anyway, there are 4 fish remaining, 2 platys and 2 zebra danios. The 20 gal is now much too big for them, so I'm planning on moving them into a 5 gallon tank that I already have set up, but not cycled.

Now for the question: I bought a sponge filter to use for the new 5 gal, and I was wondering if I had to cycle that filter in the new tank, or just run it in the 20 gal for a month, and that would be enough to cycle it. Would that work? Because after all cycling a tank is really just growing bacteria on the filter right? So as long as the filter has bacteria on it, I can just move it into the new tank without any issues. And of course some of the water from the 20 gal is going into the new one to avoid shocking the fish in any way.
I'm not sure if taking the beneficial bacteria from your old tank to your new tank is a good idea until you find out what is causing these deaths. A bigger tank is easier to maintain and zebra danios unfortunately need to be in a group of 6 or more to be healthy and happy.

I know it's a pain but you could do a through cleaning of the 20 gallon and house fish in the 5 gallon until you figure out what is wrong with the 20 gallon. It's what you think is best. You know your fish but that is what I would do)
__________________
stephpartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank, transfer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Transfer for fish and live rock only tank Benjithecookiemonster Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 9 06-16-2009 11:29 AM
tank transfer 29g - 75g steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 08-15-2005 05:17 PM
Tank transfer - success with mystery??? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-13-2005 02:49 PM
Upgrading tank - transfer equipment, keep fish alive... SwerveDriver Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-05-2004 07:29 PM
How do I transfer fish from a low pH to normal pH tank? Muppeholic Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-05-2004 11:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×