Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-18-2011, 12:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

tankmate ideas

Hey everyone.....looking for ideas for new tankmates. I'm new to fish keeping so they must be hearty tolerant forgiving fish. I currently have zebra danios, 4 of them, in a 40 gal tank. Suggestions?

Old 09-18-2011, 12:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Fill out the zebras to like 8 first of all

Old 09-18-2011, 01:58 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

I do plan on getting more danios, but would like another kind too.
Old 09-18-2011, 02:01 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Could do an angel pair but im not sure how tolerant they would be. Usually semi sensetive fish. Some gouramis?
Old 09-18-2011, 02:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Maybe you should try answering the question first-what do you want? I could name a bunch of species I would want or would love in a forty gallon that maybe you wouldn't like. What do you want in this tank?
Old 09-18-2011, 03:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years

POTM Champion

Remember, fish all have the same basic needs. Other than a few fish that die for no reason like GBR's, I wouldn't say any fish is hardier than another. It might take more to kill some, but subjecting them to that kind of environment would be a fail on the owners part.

Ultimately, in a 40g tank with just zebra danios, you have a lot of options. It's easier to critique ideas than to provide suggestions on such a wide open stocking plan.

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote