tankmate ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RooRoo

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone.....looking for ideas for new tankmates. I'm new to fish keeping so they must be hearty tolerant forgiving fish. I currently have zebra danios, 4 of them, in a 40 gal tank. Suggestions?

Could do an angel pair but im not sure how tolerant they would be. Usually semi sensetive fish. Some gouramis?

Maybe you should try answering the question first-what do you want? I could name a bunch of species I would want or would love in a forty gallon that maybe you wouldn't like. What do you want in this tank?

Remember, fish all have the same basic needs. Other than a few fish that die for no reason like GBR's, I wouldn't say any fish is hardier than another. It might take more to kill some, but subjecting them to that kind of environment would be a fail on the owners part.

Ultimately, in a 40g tank with just zebra danios, you have a lot of options. It's easier to critique ideas than to provide suggestions on such a wide open stocking plan.

Well, been looking at web, and in some of our books, and right now we are considering swordtails, platies, dwarf gouramis, or corys. What do you think?

RooRoo said:
Well, been looking at web, and in some of our books, and right now we are considering swordtails, platies, dwarf gouramis, or corys. What do you think?

I would so do cories! I love them and they're really nice to have because they can help clean up excess food, just don't forget that they also need their own food. I have a platy she's really nice, just remember if you get more than just one gender they will breed like rabbits, same with the swordtails. And also keep like 2 females to every 1 male. A dwarf gourami would be good in there too. All the fish that you said would be fine together:). Have fun and remember to post pictures once your done;)