They're Dying ... Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

EasternCanuck

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there,

I'm not a total noob at freshwater fish keeping but it has been a long time since I had my old 33 gallon set up back in Canada.

I live in Singapore at the moment and since I am living in a tropical region I figured I would try my hand at fish keeping again (it's much cheaper here than I remember it being back in Canada).

I just set up a new 20 gallon tank, purchased from one of the many aquarium shops on my street. I have it planted with 8 different plants, have a piece of treated driftwood in it, and have a soil substrate (little brown balls of dirt I guess? I never had this in Canada but it is common here and I am told it is good for plants).

I have no canopy but have a double light on top (12000K each light) and the lights are on for about 12 hours per day (probably too much).

The filter is an in-tank filter (comes as a kit, Juwel Rekord 600), which I have never used before (I had an aquafilter before, which is like a little waterfall).

One problem here is temperature and I have a little fan that blows over the water surface to help keep it between 26-28 Celsius.

I have a CO2 tank hooked up with a diffuser at a rate of one bubble per second (the little bubble counter). I have never used a CO2 tank before but they are common here (they weren't back home).

I hope that gives a better picture of my tank. My PH is below 6 at the moment, but I am attributing that to the CO2, driftwood and soil substrate.

At the advice of my local aquarium shop, I put in 8 cardinal tetras and 4 Rams 2 days ago.

I was getting hair algae so I added in about 40 little shrimp (Japanese name I can't remember). Again at the advice of my local aquarium shop.