Top for Betta Tank Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nerdelish

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to fish-keeping and while I have been waiting for my 29 gallon to cycle I bought a 5 gallon on Craigslist to keep a Betta.:whistle:

I just finished my hard-scape and have started my fishless cycle as of today. (y)

However, the glass pieces that go over the top of the tank leave some room and I know can Bettas jump, do I need to do something about the gaps?

If so, would it be better to buy a new lid or rig something together? I am not very handy but I can do basic easy things ( so suggestions on a cheap easy fix would be appreciated).

Attached are a few pictures so you can see what I mean:
1. The top of the tank, there are gaps in both front and back.
2. Showing how lights sits on top
3. What my tank looks like so far

Attachments

• top of tank.jpg
    top of tank.jpg
    228.1 KB · Views: 72
  • 5 gal light.jpg
    5 gal light.jpg
    165.3 KB · Views: 74
  • tank tank.jpg
    tank tank.jpg
    162.3 KB · Views: 74
I am new to fish-keeping and while I have been waiting for my 29 gallon to cycle I bought a 5 gallon on Craigslist to keep a Betta.:whistle:

I just finished my hard-scape and have started my fishless cycle as of today. (y)

However, the glass pieces that go over the top of the tank leave some room and I know can Bettas jump, do I need to do something about the gaps?

If so, would it be better to buy a new lid or rig something together? I am not very handy but I can do basic easy things ( so suggestions on a cheap easy fix would be appreciated).

Attached are a few pictures so you can see what I mean:
1. The top of the tank, there are gaps in both front and back.
2. Showing how lights sits on top
3. What my tank looks like so far