Total Newbie - HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Colette

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am now the lucky recipient of 2 guppies. A big one and a little one. I don't know what kind they are, I don't know if they are male or female. My daughter brought them home from school. I only have a fish bowl at the moment, and some of that stuff you put in the water to make it ready for fish. She also brought home a baggie full of food. I'd love some suggestions on how to keep these things alive.

You are somewhat in luck...guppies are natural survivors. I recommend adding an air pump (you can buy a tiny one for ~$5) and feeding them two small feedings per day...key word is small. Change about 25% of the water weekly while syphoning off the bottom of the bowl of any waste. Mix the water and dechlorinator before adding it to the bowl, and letting the water sit and adjust to room temperature is a good idea.

Guppies can live off a fairly simple setup. Is this ideal...no, but it will work. I am guessing that you're not in the market to set up a new big tank since these were sprung on you :D .

Welcome to AA :fadein:

Like Bear said, your guppies would survive like that but they would be more grateful to have a water temp of 77 degrees or so which would require an aquarium heater... which would not fit in your bowl so you will need a tank.. at which time you'd need some filtration... LOL

If you look in your local swap sheet/newspaper ads, you might find a good deal on a used aquarium with all of that stuff included for around 20-30 bucks.

We would be happy to screen the ad for you if you let us know what you find.

Also if you have a male and female guppy, they will more than likely breed. They are livebearers and you would then have baby guppies! Now wouldn't that be exciting.