Total newbie just bought a 90g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mippymuppett

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all!!! I have 2 small 3g aquariums with a male beta in each and just bought a used 90g tank off of craigslist. The tank I bought was originally a freshwater tank and the previous owner had it converted to saltwater. He had problems with power outages and overflow so as a result I will be using the tank as a freshwater. We have beautiful hardwood floors and overflow would be a disaster.

My question is...what filter should I buy? I was at my LFS and the gentleman there suggested a Fluval 406. Then I started looking at reviews online and now my head is swimming. Some people love one while others have had horrible experiences. I'm not excited about wasting money buying multiple filters because I did not do my research. Does a canister run the risk of over flow? I'm sorry to sound like such a novice, but well, I am.

I plan on having live plants and small community fish up to 2-3 inches. I will start with a school of 5 or 6 and then work my way up to 40.

I was not planning on using any of the previous owner's equipment other than the tank, light, and uv sterilizer. So, I know I will want a 100g filter, a CO2, water test kit and thermometer. What am I missing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thank you in advance to all!!

First of all welcome!

Many people, myself included, run 2 or more filters on tanks. Especially large ones like what you have.

The reasoning is simple:
1. Equipment failure. If your only filter broke you would likely need to cycle the tank all over again. Plus you are running a tank with no filter till you can get a new one.
2. More filtration. You can never have too much!