Wanna help walk me through starting up a tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nigel227

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 30 gal tank in my apartment that I am trying to get started up. I have some general background knowledge of how to maintain a tank but starting it up is something I've never done before.

My goal is to get a stable freshwater environment with some little, colorful, schooling fish and maybe a few others (depending on recommendations from y'all). Cycling is still kind of a mystery to me but from reading a few posts I'm assuming the fish-less approach is easiest. This is where I feel like I will need the most help. I bought a 150 Watt Aquarium Heater made by Top Fin so I can have fish more accustomed to warmer water.

Cleaning and maintenance are easy for me (I do this as a job at an aquarium). My tank came with a bunch of stuff including:

gravel washer and hose
two fake plants and a coral tunnel decoration
substrate (small stones and pebbles. brown/natural looking not colorful/fake)
food
filter (hangs over the back) and some floss for the filter
some water treatment supplies. haven't gone through them yet to see brands
Pump for an airstone

I have just bought some supplies myself:

scrub brush
2 nets
150 Watt heater
air stone and hose

I guess my question is, what do I do next? I have pictures, just gotta figure out how to post them (sorry, new to site also)

Thanks

Attachments

• photo (1).JPG
    photo (1).JPG
    238.6 KB · Views: 98
  • photo (2).JPG
    photo (2).JPG
    226.1 KB · Views: 106
  • photo (3).jpg
    photo (3).jpg
    207.7 KB · Views: 107