was given a used 30 gallon including fish- Need to get it home

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missyanne280

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
:confused:Hello, I was given a 30 gallon tank with full setup, including 5 fish. Freshwater~ I need to get it home any suggestions how to do this?
I did resaerch online reguarding new tanks and said I have to let it filter and run for 1 week before adding fish to my tank.. Do I have to do that if the fish are coming from the same tank?
I am sorry I am completely new with owning a tank etc..
Thank you for your help

What kind of fish?

I had to move a 20 gallon tank across town once... I put everything in a bucket, emptied half the water, left the other half of the water, and the fish in it, and drove *very* carefully. Total drive time was only 20 minutes, and putting the tank back together was the very first thing I did. Fish were only slightly disgruntled, but came through it fine... (A pair of blue discus)

That was about 15 years ago, though.. For all I know, someone invented some new and improved system.

What kind of fish?

I had to move a 20 gallon tank across town once... I put everything in a bucket, emptied half the water, left the other half of the water, and the fish in it, and drove *very* carefully. Total drive time was only 20 minutes, and putting the tank back together was the very first thing I did. Fish were only slightly disgruntled, but came through it fine... (A pair of blue discus)

That was about 15 years ago, though.. For all I know, someone invented some new and improved system.

There are a few Neon Tetras, couple of other Tetras (one that looks like an Angel fish), 3 Guppies, and a large Pleco
Did you take out the stones etc?

Last edited: