Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2017, 03:45 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Water Changers

I have been looking into deciding how to do water changes and have been looking at the Aqueon tap to aquarium system. I have also been watching the DIY set ups that have some appeal versus the cost of ones on the market.

I would need 30 -35 feet top get to the source water. Will be used for a 65 gal tall tank.

Which way would you proceed? Any comments welcomed and appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 03:48 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,167
For filling and draining?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 03:51 PM   #3
Lev
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 195
I use the bucket method so stuck in the dark ages, but I love the control it gives... Although doing large water changes on the big tank is definitely an undertaking!
__________________
Lev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lev View Post
I use the bucket method so stuck in the dark ages, but I love the control it gives... Although doing large water changes on the big tank is definitely an undertaking!
Hah!!! Bucket method.. you plebian:p I use the bucket method on my betta tank. Otherwise I flip switches and relax to the melodic hum of pumps. I can do 50%wc on my 75 in 10 minutes without breaking a sweat, unless it's summer time.. than I break a sweat just thinking of breaking a sweat.. yah... sweating is a problem for me in the summer.. but water changes are not!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:03 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
For filling and draining?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Yes a two way. I have some back issues and carrying several pails of water back and forth doesn't appeal to me.
__________________
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:04 PM   #6
Lev
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Lev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Lake District, UK
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
Hah!!! Bucket method.. you plebian:p I use the bucket method on my betta tank. Otherwise I flip switches and relax to the melodic hum of pumps. I can do 50%wc on my 75 in 10 minutes without breaking a sweat, unless it's summer time.. than I break a sweat just thinking of breaking a sweat.. yah... sweating is a problem for me in the summer.. but water changes are not!!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Lol

One day I will get with the times but carrying 35L (2-3x) of water through each week is certainly toning my arms up nicely for my wedding in July

Go bucket method!!
__________________
Lev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,167
I mean.. the python system is solid. I have a major issue with using the pressure from faucet for draining. It wastes so much water in a hobby that revolves around wasting water. You can get a submersible pump for draining on amazon for cheap money.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
I mean.. the python system is solid. I have a major issue with using the pressure from faucet for draining. It wastes so much water in a hobby that revolves around wasting water. You can get a submersible pump for draining on amazon for cheap money.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
I was wondering about how much water it would take to prime it, especially over 30+ feet.

Gave a slap to the side of my head, as I hadn't thought of a pump! Thanks.
__________________
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill22 View Post
I was wondering about how much water it would take to prime it, especially over 30+ feet.

Gave a slap to the side of my head, as I hadn't thought of a pump! Thanks.
You're going to blow 100 gallons on siphoning alone..terrible imo

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brookster123 View Post
You're going to blow 100 gallons on siphoning alone..terrible imo
Ouch .....would not have thought it would be that much. Nearly made a mistake, nearly but didn't.

What does your set-up look like and do you use it for draining and filling.

I am very excited about making water changes easier. Some sort of system would compel me to regularly do them while manually I would be lazy. I just know it and me!
__________________
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 04:30 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,167
I have an inline 250gph pump for draining, it's hooked up to a wall switch and hose. Drains into the sink for now, eventually it will go to a holding tank outside for outdoor watering. Filling comes from a 55gal water barrel containing 2 pumps, 300gph and 600gph for filling the larger tanks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 08:32 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
aseradyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 140
I use a Python to drain and fill my tanks. It's hooked up so it drains down to about ankle height. Once I start the siphon, I turn off the water. Usually takes, I dunno, 20 seconds? So it doesn't have to be a water hog, unless you are trying to push water uphill.
__________________
aseradyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 01:59 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
nirbhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan, Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,000
Also a fan of the Python, and I also turn the water off after the siphon starts. Then I wind the hose from the sink so all of the water goes in the tank. Love it.
__________________
I'm probably on my phone.

http://injaf.org/
http://thedelicion.com
nirbhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 10:25 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Thanks for the last two positive comments on the Python. How do you think this will work over 30 ft? It seems to be very popular but I wondered whether it would prime and continue on its own with out a constant prime.

And is doing a 4-6 gallon water change each day as effective as doing one 50% change a week?

Thank you.
__________________
Bill22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 12:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
nirbhao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Michigan, Metro Detroit
Posts: 3,000
Keeping the prime only depends on keeping air out of the hose. Distance isn't an issue.

Whether it will continue without running water depends on the water level of the tank being higher than the faucet.

Smaller water changes more often can be very good for a tank.
__________________
I'm probably on my phone.

http://injaf.org/
http://thedelicion.com
nirbhao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2017, 12:51 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
I remember when python got popular. Is was a glorious time lol.
__________________

__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, change, water, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqueon Water Changers in UK guppy grandma Over the Pond - EU & Beyond 7 06-09-2013 08:40 PM
Water Changers For UK use chew valley Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 09-14-2012 06:23 PM
Water changers Convict2161 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 32 10-29-2011 03:14 PM
Question about water changers AmyD Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 10-02-2011 04:49 PM
water changers nanpat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-19-2009 10:42 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×