Water changes.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chloefinn2003

Aquarium Advice Regular
I all. I'm new to this. I have a 180 litre tank. I've got an internal filter system plus an external pond solution 2000. I've been reading up that I should do a water change every week plus clean the filters every month and replace every two to three months.

I'm worried all the water changes will upset and disturb the fish. Mayb I'm over reacting but it worries me.

Some advice would be great.

Ali do I need the internal pump/filter??? When I read up on the external one it says you don't need an internal one.

Thanks in advance

Yes weekly water changes are absolutely necessary. Imagine if you were kept in a small box all your life, going to the bathroom in it every day. You'd want it cleaned out wouldn't you? Fish waste builds up and causes nitrates to rise which can be unhealthy for fish.
Here are some great and informative articles:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/i-jus...g-but-I-already-have-fish-What-now/Page2.html

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/tips-and-tricks-for-your-fastest-fishless-cycle/ Sorry not exactly what you're asking about the filter.

Hi, do you have a juwel rio? I have one. A 180 litre too. I will be running the internal filter AND an external filter eihem 2217.

Both filters allow for extra media and give you more room to play around with different media I.e sponge, carbon, floss, ceramic, bio balls. I believe juwel, if it is a juwel, internal filters are quite good and have lots of room. I think it runs at 650 litres an hour which is over 3 times your tank size an hour. This to most is minimum or even below. Some people have filters that run 10 times the volume of the tank an hour.