Water hardness/alkalinity

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

subtle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm not sure if this is in the right place, but I'm just getting started so I thought it might fit.

I have a little ten gallon tank with no fish!

I've been cycling it for two days now and everything is flowing smoothly. I tested the water yesterday and the hardness of my water was very hard. It appears to take color of soft at first, but darkens within about 30 seconds. My alkalinity pad takes an ideal color at first and darkens greatly after a few seconds. And my pH is most vivid red on the chart. I hoped that letting it sit overnight would lower some of the levels since I tested it right after I used the coniditioner. But the results didn't change.

I wanted to know if these results are okay for fish or not, and if not what can I do to fix them?

I would not even test for that till the cycle is over. You will get messed up results. The only thing I would test for is Ammonia, Nitrite and nitrates to see where your cycle is. Everything else you will not get a true reading till after the cycle and a good size PWC. BTW welcome to AA

Just to clarify. Since you are cycling without fish, you are adding another source of Ammonia to get the cycle started correct?

In most cases living with the KH, GH, and pH of your water out of the tap is the easiest and best for your fish. Stability is key when it comes to keeping fish. It's only when you get into keeping some very specific fish, or more importantly breeding fish that you might want to consider adjusting these values.