weirdo sharks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crumbs

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I recenty bought my mates fishtank..along with 2 bala sharks, a talking catfish, suckermouth catfish and a reid fish..2 dayz later 1 of the bala sharks died..(my friend had these for 4 years) then it like 5 days later i notice the 2nd shark acting weird..it keeps swimming into the glass really fast..its also got this white ring behind the top fin..anybody no why?

Im new to this..so im mot actually sure if the tank is cycled properly..the person i bought tank frombis suppose to come and test the water..its in a 40gallon tank.

Im new to this..so im mot actually sure if the tank is cycled properly..the person i bought tank frombis suppose to come and test the water..its in a 40gallon tank.

If you put all new water in the tank then that's probably the problem, the fish wouldn't of been acclimated properly so the sudden change in conditions would of caused shock. :(

If you put all new water in the tank then that's probably the problem, the fish wouldn't of been acclimated properly so the sudden change in conditions would of caused shock. :(

Yes 90% of the water was new water...but i bought the stuff to take the chlorine out of the water.. the rest of the fish seem to b ok nt not the weirdo shark!!

Yes 90% of the water was new water...but i bought the stuff to take the chlorine out of the water.. the rest of the fish seem to b ok nt not the weirdo shark!!

Balas can be sensitive. Also they often benefit from plants or visual barriers to define the sides and cushion any impacts. They do best in Large long tanks in groups as they startle easily. I used to advise using timers for lights, putting them in quieter areas and using plants along the back and sides, plus Black or brown background on back and sides at least till they acclimate.

Sorry about your fish.