What did I mess up?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

VN

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,
I'm pretty new in having an aquarium, so I'll probably have lots of questions in these coming months.

I set up a 10 gallon aquarium with 6 fish in it. 2 gold colored algae eaters, two black tetras, and two silver dollars. Everything went fine for a month. The water cleared up beautifully, I put a couple of plants in, so those little snails started to show up and everybody seemed happy and healthy. Until one of the silver dollars had a wound (I think) on it's side. After a day it looked scarry, it looked like it was covered with some white hairy stuff. After 2 more days it died. I got an other silver dollar, that's when everyone of my fishies started to get sick (not the algae eater though). There were no particular simptoms, no wounds, but they became disoriented and died the next morning. Now I only have one last black skirt tetra and the two algae eaters. But my tetra changed color. it looks like it lost part of the blackness in its fins. So part of it is black and part of it is clear.

I don't understand what I did wrong. If I have to start over, can I use bottled water instead of tap water? Would that be safer? :roll:

How ofter do you change the water? What type of filtration are you using? Also do you test the water for pH and ammonia?

Hi, thanks for replying

I just set up this tank. After the third week I changed about 20% of the water and also cleaned out the gravel.
I have an external filter - I don't know the professional name of it - It's on the outside of the tank, a pipe in the water sucks the water up, then it goes through a carbon filter and then back to the tank.
Looks like my last blackskirt is going to pass away soon. It seem like he can't move, I can see him breathing, but he is not moving at all. :cry: