What do I need to start a freshwater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RussC

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I was an avid reef tank owner until Hurricane Katrina wiped me out. Now my daughter wants gold fish and I have a 45 hex with all kinds of equipment. What do I need to start a freshwater tank and will any of my hardware I used for a marine tank work for a freshwater tank?

I'm a newb here, but I can try to help you out a little bit.

The most important things I found for FW setups:

1.) A good filter - hang on back is what I use, but they all have pros and cons. My Tetra whisper filter has been working fine, and is almost completely silent.

2.) Water test kits - Very important! They sell strips and liquid versions, which I'm sure your aware of. I use the liquid version from Aquarium Pharmaceuticles because I have heard that the test strips can be very inaccurate.

3.) Gravel Vac - Goldfish from what I hear are very messy fish, so a gravel vac is important. You could go with a cheap version like I did (I only have a 10gallon tank), of you could go with the very popular Python water change kit (which I would suggest since you have a 45gallon, would make cleaning/water changes a lot more easier for you)

Because you said goldfish, I belive a heater isn't required. Someone might be able to shed a little more light on this though.

I don't know anything about salt water but to keep goldfish you need a good filter (HOB or canister) and you will need a heater at some point to avoid massive temperature changes.

Also, if you didn't know already, the rule for goldfish is 1 goldie per 10gal so with good filtration you could prolly house 4-5 goldfish =o)