WHAT is that? Eggs?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MommaTes

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So, this morning I woke up, turned the tank light on (like I always do) said good morning to the stooges and noticed.. something.. odd.. :huh: Now, I'm a newbie to this whole fish thing and I've been trying to figure out what these things are! HELP!? I don't think they are goldfish eggs.. I mean... they're.. freaky looking! Anyone know what these are????? I put a piece of red paper in a bag to give it a background so they can be seen more clearly. Please help! :confused:

Attachments

• Image31.jpg
    Image31.jpg
    39.9 KB · Views: 88
Looks like eggs to me, but I can't tell what type. What do you have living in your tank? Eggs are usually a good sign that you're keeping your tank in good condition.

BigJim - As far as I know, just a comet goldfish and two black moor goldfish but all the pictures I've found of their eggs look nothing like these :( They freaked me out, I had to do another partial water change today (working on those pesky levels) so they are no more but while changing the water, I found ANOTHER "cluster" just like that. Leave it to my tank to get something freakish going on.

Are they still in the 5 gal tank that's in your signature? A 5 gal for 3 messy goldfish is going to be almost impossible to keep a handle on the ammonia levels. For 3 goldfish you'd need a minimum 40 gal tank. Just some info you may not have heard before.

As for the eggs, I have no idea. I've never seen goldfish eggs, so I wouldn't know if that's what they were. If you're not sure the best thing is probably to take them out. :)