what's going on here?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ishmael

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hey, i'm new to the board and to the hobby and i have a few questions.

i have a Top Fin 10 gallon starter kit that has been cycling since 8/9. like a complete novice ,on the 2nd day, i added 3 zebra danios and some kind of tetra(not sure what kind-he's small, orangish with a black triangle shape on his back half.). there was a white cloud for a day or so, which i assume was the bacteria bloom and then shortly after all but the tetra died. once again, like a novice, i added in 3 more danios and 3 black skirt tetras which all seem to be healthy, happy and fine. anyway, the problem is that the tank has serious ammonia issues probably due to the bioload and not being finished cycling. the ph is around 8.0, nitrites have been consistently around 0.3, but ammonia is at 3.0(it's never been bellow 1.5). the tank's temp is around 78-80 degrees. i've done several water changes, usually between 20 and 30% and even did 70% once and the ammonia goes down for a few hours, but then shoots right up again. i've used tap water and distilled water, but still get the same results. i've even cut down the feeding to once or twice a week.

so, if ammonia is so toxic then why do all the fish seem so normal and healthy? i use Complete Care by Tropical Science to condition the water and Laborett's Tetratest. i realize that the water conditioner detoxifies the ammonia, but nonetheless, the high level seems to be stressing me out more than the fish. could the test kit be bad?

i imagine that the tank is still cycling and the ammonia levels will subside, but with everything i've read (especially here-you guys are very helpful) i'm not sure my tank is behaving normally.

any answers or advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks.