Whats taking so long on my cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Krayzie

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 20 gallon tank, with plenty of bubbles going on, and a filter. I've been cycling for more than 2 months and I figured I would have had enough bacteria built by now. So far the bacteria eats the ammonia in no less than 2-3 days. I am adding the ammonia from aces, so I know its not a problem with the ammonia. I added ammonia 2 days ago to 4ppm, and today it is at 2~ppm.

Heres the results of the Nitrites, and Nitrates. Water might be a little tinted from drift wood, i threw it out btw.
2w7rb0l.jpg

Heres a pic of the tank waiting patiently for fish.
fdhzko.jpg

You don't need to test both regular and high range pH. The high range is just there if your regular range pH measures off the chart.

I suggest testing your tap ph, doing a substantial WC, and using some sort of buffer like crushed coral or aragonite to bring your pH up. Nitrification stalls as the pH drops into the 6s.

Last edited:
You don't need to test both regular and high range pH. The high range is just there if your regular range pH measures off the chart.

I suggest testing your tap ph and using some sort of buffer like crushed coral or aragonite to bring your pH up, nitrification stalls as the pH drops into the 6s.

I will test the tap PH now. I live in a small town, kinda hard to find that stuff.

Tap PH is around 7.5

Crushed coral should be fairly easy to come by, but even still the tap may be sufficiently buffered and the ph is just dropping from the massive amount of nitrification going on in the tank. It's one of my gripes with the 'standard' fishless cycling routine that most people do, but that's a side note.

Until you can get a buffer material you could just do some big water changes and redose ammonia accordingly.