3 fish dead!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PollyPanda

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I am a newbie at this and as I'm buying my fish in Hong Kong and can't understand the language am having a very hard time figuring things out.

I started off with two fish that look like a watonai
One fish had curved spine disease from overfeeding or from not changing the water often enough. After replacing it soon after it happened to another. After replacing that soon after another died. After replacing the tank with a veil tail fish? it attacked my half moon? (sorry not familiar with the names) and sliced part of its tail. This is when I noticed my watonai had a strange air bubble like blister on it's tail. I separated the veil tail and everything seemed fine but, in a few days I started noticing the Watonai was getting reddish around the gills and was floating at the bottom of the tank as all the other ones had done right before dying.
I know, awful but, I'm learning and I would do anything not to see another one die. Please help!

1. had it for 1/2 year and we caught it as a carnival

2. There are 5 watonai's, 1 cleaning fish?, 1 half moon together in the tank
3. seems as though it's still actively swimming up to the top when it thinks I'm going to feed it. Eating very tiny small ball fish food
4. I don't own a test kit and not sure where I can purchase one out here.
5. the white parts of the fish look more paler then usual, large water blister on tail for 4 days now, definitely floating at bottom more often then I'd seen in past, reddish at side fins, will actively swim for a bit but, then retreat to the bottom and rest a bit during the day.
6. no fish "flashing"
8. Did you use quarantine? If so for how long and did you have a need to treat for any ailments? Is it in qt now? Are you currently treating with any medication(s)?