A dead clown, a sad clown, and several DUMB questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

queenvee

Aquarium Advice Newbie
The facts:
I'm new to saltwater- Two months tomorrow.
55 gallons (long) and no protein skimmer.
I have my 2 original yellow-tails.
I have two dominoes and one of two perculas purchased three-weeks ago.

For the past week the perculas have had a long, white spiderweb looking piece hanging out. The LFS said it was "fiber" in the diet when I called asking about internal parasites.

Also for the past week, an incredible amount of brown algae (I guess) has spotted up the tank, though the water quality has stayed the same for weeks.

Yesterday one of the perculas, on its side, and gasping. It died today. The water quality was crazy. I did a 25% change and the situation now is:
pH8.2
ammonia 0.5
nitrate 20
nitrite 0.5
temp 80F

The others remain normal.
I feed marine flakes twice daily (only what they can eat in five minutes).
Is that normal for percula feces?
Should I be worried about the brown gook?
Should I plan to dump more water SOON? I want that nitrate down!
:?:

First off... Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com :D

queenvee said:
Yesterday one of the perculas, on its side, and gasping. It died today. The water quality was crazy. I did a 25% change and the situation now is:
pH8.2
ammonia 0.5
nitrate 20
nitrite 0.5
temp 80F
With those levels I would suggest three causes: the tank never really cycled properly in the first place, overfeeding or something may have been added to kill the nitrifying bacteria. Have you used any medications in the main tank?

The others remain normal.
I feed marine flakes twice daily (only what they can eat in five minutes).
Once daily is plenty. Anymore and you risk the water quality as the filtration cannot keep up. Other than the question above, this is most likley your culprit.