At wits end!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bizzybeas

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have been battling cyano for almost 6 months, the last 2 being the worst. It is on every section of my live rock and the sand bed. Even if I suction it, it is back the next day. My corals look terrible, I only have 5, so I was thinking of bringing them to the LFS because I do not want to kill them. All of my levels check out.

I have tried using chemiclean, and a phosphate sponge. The chemiclean worked for a couple of days, but that was it. I have had a lot of frustrations over the past year and am ready to turn my reef into a FOWLR. If I do this, what is the easiest way to get rid of the cyano? I am ready to tear down my tank. :cry:

I have never used anything but RO water and my skimmer is working well. It is an aqua-c. This all started when my original skimmer broke and it took me about a month between trying to fix it and finally ordering a new one. This is when the cyano started.

If I rid myself of the corals and turn my MH's off will this help because I know that it can survive with little light? Also, I have no green algae to speak of, will my pincushin urchin starve?

turning your reef into fish only is not going to get rid of the cyano....many fo tanks battle the same problems.

How often are you doing water changes? I would turn the lights to a minimum amount. Siphon daily and do water changes once a week until your problem is under control.

You do not mention any additives? are you dosing anything? what is the alkalinity level? Increased alkalinity helps eat phosphates. (not suggesting that you make the levels out of this world, just within a high normal reading)