Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2010, 01:36 AM   #11
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
THanks Larry - I never realized. I struggle to keep my tank above 400 dosing 2-part.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 01:53 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
SHARPiE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 492
Send a message via MSN to SHARPiE
Quote:
Originally Posted by tntfish View Post
Wuts a GFO will replace some saltwater with FW tonight and i am testing with a hydrometer
Granular Ferric Oxide!
__________________

__________________
20 Gal - Planted CO2 Community Tank
4.5 Gal - Planted Shrimp Tank - in progress

Useful Acronyms
SHARPiE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 12:28 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Guys i did that water change my levels are better

Ca-460
Gravity is 1.024
phospate is still up there
nitrate went down to 10ppm
evrything looks better exept my montis they are pretty bleached how can i get them back on track
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 01:45 PM   #14
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
How big of a water change did you do? If your nitrate was 20 and now it's 10, you would have had to do a 50% water change with 0 nitrate saltwater.
Quote:
montis they are pretty bleached how can i get them back on track
Your phoshate must be 0. You have to stabalize your parameters (salinity, alk, calcium, magnesium). Can't let them start high, drop down, go up again, then back down, etc. Invest in a refractometer. Nothing happens fast....except disasters.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 06:42 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
I agree wil invest in refractometer asap
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 12:52 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Exclamation

I think i have a problem my levels are still the same doing test evryday so far so good everything looks way less strees my mushrooms are all opned up nice and wide so are the star polyps but today i moved my monties lower in the tank and there were a whole bunch of lil bugs under them is this a good thing or a bad thing??
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:11 PM   #17
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Probably just pods. They are OK. Do they look shrimp like?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:19 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 251
Kinda welll ther really hard to see there tinyy nad greyish brown
__________________
tntfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:04 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ny
Posts: 268
Your salinity is a bit high... If you are using a hydromiter i would always take something skinny and hit the hing so if there are any air bubbles bringing the hing up you will eliminate that and you will have a more acurate reading. And i would definatly lower phosphates. I thought mine that is .25 is high. You should check your fish food for phosphates. I don't have a RO/RI system because i dont have money. The cheap way out is to use a britta filter to philter your tap water. It will only get the large particles out but it is better than nothing. If you don't have much money like me i would get a 35$ in tank refugium and grow macro algea in it so you can lower phosphates and all that nasty stuff!!! I'm only 12 that why i don't have much $.
__________________
brian242pa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:39 AM   #20
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Your salinity is a bit high...
How did you come to that conclusion? He said..."Gravity is 1.024". Natural seawater around the reefs average 1.026.
__________________

__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Algae problem foxmulder Saltwater Reef Aquaria 30 01-01-2010 11:15 AM
On-going algae problem MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 09-28-2005 07:23 PM
Help with algae problem please! TeenReefer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 12-26-2004 06:05 PM
algae problem... dertyharry420 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 12-08-2004 07:12 PM
Algae problem Keeper Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 03-09-2004 05:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.