Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-28-2004, 11:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
Cannot keep fish at all

ok, well, its been a month since i had something kill my 2 clowns and 2 cardinals,,ive been wathing tank levels, did a water change, been scared to put in a fish,,,and i got one yesterday,and today,,pop -eye, now dead,,,,whats going on,,whats in my tank,,,all tests are fine, no ammonia, no nitrate, nitrite, and ph is 8.2-8.4................what are my options here, i have 400.00 invested in my rocks,,is this bacteria living in the rocks or what ?,,,,i have about 30 inverts living in harmony on my tank,,,nothing else is dying,,im really getting frustrated here
__________________

__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 11:51 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Cannot keep fish at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingparsy
,i have about 30 inverts living in harmony on my tank,,,nothing else is dying,,im really getting frustrated here
Could be the store your getting the fish from (might try a new one) or possibley the way they are being acclimated to the tank. Preferabley you should be introducing fish to a properly cycled QT. When a new fish dies with undermined circumstances, it's best to leave the main tank fallow for a 4 week period if it wasn't QT'd first. I know it's a long stint but if the problem was parasitic, it will take that long to be rid of.

If fish are properly QT'd first, it spares the main tank of these issues completely.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 11:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
how do i fix the problem ,,im not even going to attempt to add anymore fish,,is there a treatment, or anything i can do, or is this going to lay dormant and attack when i put another fish in there???,,,,,even if i qt, as soon as i put the fish in,,,hell die
__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 11:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
i changed stored completely also, this is the first fish ive ever brought home from this other store whom ive been buying my live rock from all along, but no fish
__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:00 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Agree with SteveS. We have several LFS in our area. There are a couple of them I would not buy a damsel from. Very unhealthy from the start.
When you are considering a purchase, check the fish out good. Make sure there are no apparent parasites, injuries, etc. also make sure it is eating well and is not suffering from lateral line or nutritional deficiency. Also qt will keep you from introducing any parasite or other communicable diseases into you main.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingparsy
even if i qt, as soon as i put the fish in,,,hell die
Not so if you water parameter are good. The qt period would allow any parasites to die off with the lack of fish hosts.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
so its my technique, there is no parasite, or harmfull bacteria living in my tank waiting to snipe out my fish??....cause ive never had a problem till now, im still a beginner and still learning
__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
yeah , i figured thats what i was doing waiting a month or so untill i put a fish in there,,,,so how long should i wait this time?
__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Might not be your technique, some store just have bad livestock. Doubt if there are harmful bacteria. Check out another LFS and use qt and I'll bet things will improve.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 12:10 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: st louis missouri
Posts: 35
so a qt does not need to cycle??? just use, clean and put away?,,just get salt levels right and ph?
__________________

__________________
kingparsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.