carnation coral help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shannonredburn

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've looked around a bit and I have been trying to find info on a carnation coral. I am totally new to my salt tank and I know that I started doing everything before I should have (it's only a month and a half old :oops: ) but after weekly testings of my water at my lfs I decided to start buying what I liked. I asked alot of questions about how to keep them and only took what sounded like I could do. Everything is fine except for a carnation coral, it's shedding. I looked on line in many different places, and they all same this is an extremely difficult coral to keep. I've read that it needs a constant wash of phytos and in my little 12g this is just not possible as far as I know, with out really overdosing everything else. As the testing they do at the store is on a strip I could not tell you exactly what everything is, it's a color changing 5-in-1 thing, but all the colors were "good" they tell me. I would really prefer to try to keep it alive, it looks like it still might have a prayer and it still tries to feed, I think. Up at the top it has a hole with what looks like half of a 1/4" grasping feather duster thing come out that I assume is what it uses to catch food. It comes out every evening and has since I got it. Does anybody have any suggestions on how to keep my little guy alive, a product/food/feeding method to recommend, or should I just give up hope?

First I would suggest getting a good test kit that has individual tests for Ammonia, NitrIte, NitrAte, PH ect. The carnation coral is a VERY difficult coral to keep and even in the right tank that is properly matured it is still a difficult coral to keep alive. Your LFS should never have sold you these corals with your tank being so young.