Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-20-2014, 06:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

Clown with ick I think

My tank recently cycled and I added a clownfish and my cleanup crew this is a biocube 14 I later added a Firefish and a green chromis I know it's overstocked I will soon be upgrading to biocube 29 so I'm new to this and I need help I think my clown has ick I'm scared it my go on the other fish and how do I treat it with medication I can't set up a quarantine tank so I need help after I saw my fish had ick or at least I think its ick I added diseas prevention probiotic from marine max and I was thinking of adding melafix or pimafix help me plz also if this dosent work I'm returning the fish to the Lfs but I heard once I put the fish in the tank the tan kiss infected help in the future when adding more fish while aclimating I will ad disease prevention probiotic and pimafix or melafix help me :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	217818  

Old 01-20-2014, 07:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

These are important lessons in salt water, you can't overstock a tank ( even if you plan on upgrading later) and you must quarantine new arrivals. If you can't afford to set up a QT or hospital tank you can't afford the hobby! It's the cold hard truth I am afraid. No medicine will cure ich, the only ways are to treat in a separate tank with either copper or hypersalinity - you must then leave your tank fallow (fish less) for 6-8 weeks in order for the ich to die off.

Old 01-20-2014, 07:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist