Clownie not eating!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hari

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All:

I am new to the forum and new to aquarium maintenance... My latest issue is that my new clown fish is not eating, but guess I need to give the full history to complete the picture...

I had kept fish mollies a while back and had no issues with them... For the last few years, I did not have any fish and now my son wanted a "Nemo"... So I went and got a 10 gallon starter kit with 10 lbs of sand and 10 lbs live rock. Kept it on for 2 weeks and introduced two clown fishes. ( Now I know I should have waited longer, but being a newbie, I was just going by what the shop guys were telling me). I did not do any kind of water testing at that time. Every sat I changed some 25% of the water - but now I know I did it the wrong way - I took water from the top using a small cup and then replaced with new water bought from the shop. Another mistake I did was, I did not top off with reverse osmosis water to compensate evaporation. Didn't know, shop guys did tell, I din't do my research and I din't do. Long story short, after 4 weeks, green algae started showing up. I changed the filter and did water change. But the clownies started not to eat from that day eve and after three days, on a Sunday, both my clownies turned up dead in the morning!

Went back to the shop and then they suggested water testing. I did and found ph to be low (7.8, Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates to be high. Phosphates were way high also. They said that is the reason for fish loss and talked of adding snails, crabs etc. Did water change on Monday, this time siphoning off from the bottom. At this point, I had no fish in the tank. There are a bunch of peanut and fire worms though.