Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2005, 10:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Crab crisis!! New crab to arrive and I still haven't caught

I have a pom pom (boxing) crab due tomorrow. I didn't know that the mystery crab I have was so aggressive. My LFS told me it was a rock crab that will destroy everything in my tank. I didn't know this when I ordered the new crab and now it's due tomorrow. I still have not caught this crab what do I do? Will it kill my new crab? I know I know I have so many crisis I can't help it, is seems to be a way of life for me. Will crying do any good cause I'm willing to try it???
__________________

__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Might be able to put the new crab in something like a breeding trap til you catch the renegade crab. Or, if you have a QT tank you could put the new crab in there.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
I don't have a QT man I wish I did.

Here crabby crabby.
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: chestermere canada eh
Posts: 429
or a sump perhaps
i had a nasty bugger i took almost every rock out of my tank to get him
too bad i didnt know about him before my staghorn hermit dissapered
__________________
i have crabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:13 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Ok now this is dumb, I know but is your sump the part where the water overflow and back into your tank? I don' t think mine gets any light would that be ok?
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
I believe light is only important if you have a fuge with macro.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
There is also a bag of carbon back there. That would be bad wouldn't it? I was also wondering if there was a macro that I could put back there that could need light?

Rachel
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
I dont think the carbon is a problem. I'm not sure I understand your question about the macros. You could put anything in there if you add the proper lighting. Cheato is a nice macro.
__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX USA
Posts: 348
Quote:
I'm not sure I understand your question about the macros

I'm sorry I meant that didn't need much light, humm my fingers get the best of me. So should I put new crab in there until old crab is caught?
__________________
-Scatcat-

Don't take life too seriously, No one gets out alive.
Scatcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 10:28 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fluff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 11,423
Probably be a good idea. Hate so see you loose the new boxing crab. They are pretty awesome.
And I believe most macros need a good bit of light.
__________________

__________________
~Cindy
Fluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crab

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitchhiker crab ate my red hermit crab! zenn Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 11-12-2005 11:27 AM
Crab gettin big...good or bad crab pearsont74 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 06-17-2005 08:57 AM
I have caught the crab!! Scatcat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-19-2005 08:31 AM
Is this crab safe for fish (I believe porcelein crab?) luckycat Saltwater & Reef - Identification 2 10-03-2004 12:17 AM
Did the hermit crab eat the horseshoe crab? tigger Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 10-07-2003 01:07 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.