Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2004, 05:08 PM   #11
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocop
Wha't a polyfilter? Is that the blue filter minuse the carbon? If so, I still have that in to catch particals and waist.
A >>polyfilter<< is a sorbing fiberous material used much the same way as carbon. It is not the blue/white filter sleeves you are refering to. I just wanted to be sure.

Quote:
as stated above I used the test chemical that came with the kit to make sure that the kit was reading correctly. The test kit did pick up a the trace of copper in the test sample that came with the kit
I would still test a sample of RO water with the appropriate dose of Cupramine just to be sure. The sample regent supplied could be misleading and the kit still be faulty. I have had that issue before with their iodine kit.

The only other recommendation would be as I said before, e-mail Seachem with the lot numbers for both products and explain your difficulties. Could be one or both are faulty. In any event, your fish needs treating obviously so I wouldn't wait on acting too much longer. When e-mailing Seachem, also tell them you need to replace the Cupramine ASAP and would like a credit. Most times they will send you replacement product without any hassles but in situations like thes, time is precious.

Are you using either a UV or ozonator?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2004, 10:49 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 135
I'll email them today. Not using a UV or Ozonator.
__________________

__________________
robocop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 05:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 135
They have not returned my email. Does Cupramine cause false readings on Ammonia tests? I'm having Ammonia problems in the tank and I've done water changes like crazy.
__________________
robocop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 05:56 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 536
It's Saturday.
Seachem got back to me in a very helpful way when I had a question the next business day. Jeff
__________________
In theory there should be no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Cafe Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 07:03 PM   #15
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocop
Does Cupramine cause false readings on Ammonia tests?
Most definately. Cupramine uses amines which most ammonia test kits cannot read from regular ammonia. It was the main reason I suggested the ammonia alert badge. It is not fooled by the presence of amines. It is a very effective and useful product aside from the previously mentioned bad experience. Seachems multi test ammonia will also work with Cupramine and both can read past ammonia detoxifiers as well.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:29 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 135
Where do you find the Ammonia Alert badge? I did a search and could not find it
__________________
robocop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:32 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 135
Is it 'Seachem Ammonia Alert'?
__________________
robocop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 11:38 AM   #18
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocop
Is it 'Seachem Ammonia Alert'?
Yes, you can try E-bay or look at the various onlines and your LFS. Onlines will take much longer so I would visit a few local stores first. Where do you normally buy from?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Cupramine? leesanhua Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 04-05-2005 02:31 AM
Cupramine or hypo? xahx Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 02-14-2005 09:35 PM
PLEASE HELP-CUPRAMINE Fishboy-from-NY Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 23 08-22-2004 03:49 PM
Hyposalinity vs Cupramine??? fishman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 06-21-2004 12:47 PM
I used Cupramine... rthoman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-23-2004 08:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.