Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2013, 01:59 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I have cyano also. Been fighting it for weeks
__________________

__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:01 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
My tds on my rodi system is 255 coming in and 3 going out. But I've ran a lot of water the last few days filling my 150
When was the last time you changed your rodi cartridges?
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:02 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
This isn't my thread but the info should help the Other person. I have my taotronics on for 10 hours a day. I feed 1 cube of either brine or mysis shrimp every other day. I do a 20% water change every Saturday. Rodi water. Instant ocean reef crystals. I've checked my lvls with 4 different tests kits, just in case, they all read the same. Salinity 1.026 temp stays between 78&79.
Also, are you rinsing the frozen food before you add to the tank?
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:08 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I haven't changed them. I plan in it before I run the water. No I don't rinse the food. Not sure how to do that
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:13 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I haven't changed them. I plan in it before I run the water. No I don't rinse the food. Not sure how to do that
How long have you had your rodi system?

To rinse your food, melt/dissolve the cube in a small container of your tank water. Strain it with whatever netting you may have. (fish net works ok. I use extra window netting I had from an install I used to fix my screen door). Rinse the food with a bit more tank water and strain again, then add to tank. Will help a lot with phosphates. A lot of gunk in those frozen cube food.
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:17 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I bought it used two months ago. I know the best tds is 0 but I was told that 3 isn't bad. I'm waiting on my new di resin, carbon and sediment filters to come in. Not planning on making more water for a few days. I'll start rinsing the food and see if that helps
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:14 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Darylb's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: western australia
Posts: 2,336
This is a semi new tank all params are normal even phosphate the live rock i added from my old tank had cyano on it i tried to siphon as much as i could off
__________________
Darylb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:47 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darylb View Post
This is a semi new tank all params are normal even phosphate the live rock i added from my old tank had cyano on it i tried to siphon as much as i could off
I'm going to try the stuff I told you about. I should start treatment tomorrow or Saturday and ill let you know how good it works
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 02:28 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Datreeferman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Kyle,Texas
Posts: 137
The power head thing worked for me.
__________________
Datreeferman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:13 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I'm starting to think I have something else. I know i have more then enough flow. My water turns over more then 40 times an hour
__________________

__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.