Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-02-2003, 08:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

damsel problems

I have a 30 gallon tank that is 6 weeks old. I have had 2 yellow tail damsels in it for 5 weeks. Everything has been great so far. One damsel stays on one side of the tank and the other on the other side. Ocassionally they "play" together. I came home from work today and one damsel is absolutly tormenting the other to death. I feel sorry for the one getting picked on. He won't get back on his side of the tank and just stays in the corner of the tank at the top taking the punishment.His fins are getting ragged. Should I take the damaged one out and end his misery (flush) or let nature take its coarse (whatever the outcome)? Please help since I am new to this and don't have another tank to seperate them.

Old 12-02-2003, 08:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via AIM to alarmguy66 Send a message via Yahoo to alarmguy66
Mine did that at first, but not quite to that extent. I found completely disrupting the environment (moving around their rocks or homes) calmed things down quite a bit. A problem you may have is that if the submissive fish now is visually weakened, the dominant Damsel may not stop tormenting it.

As dumb as this sounds, Id consider returning the aggressive one to a lfs and try to save the weaker one. The dominant may be equally aggressive towards other fish you bring into its habitat.

Old 12-02-2003, 08:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Never flush a living fush. That is cruel as the fish will survive for quite awhile after being flushed and die a slow death from the toxic environment.
Old 12-02-2003, 10:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist