Dying Damsels? Help please.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caviar

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Sorry to say that my first post is one about my fish dying :(

Well, I have a brand new tank setup, about 3 weeks old now. I recently added 3 damsels to the tank to start my cycling, and I came home from school today to find that my Domino Damsel was at the bottom of my tank with labored breathing and red coloration on the surface of the gills.
I checked my salinity with two different Hydrometers, both reading out at around 1.024. All my other tests are fine as well. After a trip to Petco, the employee suggested that my salinity was too high, or the other fish didnt play nice with my Domino.

Im leaning more towards the fighting, however I can't be sure. Any advice? Im new to the saltwater world, as I've only ever owned freshwater tanks. I really don't want my other two damsels to die.

Help please? I would greatly appreciate it.
I have a few live rocks, a Convict Damsel, Yellow Tail, and HAD a Domino in the tank.
Thanks!

You need to return your fish to the store. What's happening is called ammonia poisoning. That's what is causing the labored breathing/red gills. Do a forum search on fishless cycling. It's more humane and only costs about 2 bucks for some raw shrimp.

I had my water tested today at Petco, and I also brought in the fish to get an opinion from the employee. The ammonia levels were fine (I bought live substrate and live rock to cycle the tank before buying damsels). I don't think that is the problem, especially since my other fish are actively swimming, show no symptoms and are readily accepting food.

Other fish? OK... what other fish, other than the 3 damsels do you have in the tank, and how many gallons is the tank?