Effect of over cooling on reef tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FearTheDentist

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello- To start off I'm fairly new to the hobby so am learning as fast as I can. I bought an established fish only tank about 8 weeks ago and have been converting it to a reef tank. I recently added MH lights and was amazed at how quickly they heated the tank so I bought a 1\3 HP chiller. I hooked it up and set it to 78*, and it maintained the temp quite well. I started acclimating the tank to the MH lighting, but when I checked the tank in the AM the 3rd day after I installed it, the temp gauge on the chiller read 88*, but the tank was down to 68.9* and everybody looked pretty unhappy. The company rushed a replacement thermostat to me, but now a week later half of my corals appear to be dying off.

So- my question is, before I start growling at the manufacturer of the chiller for killing off half my tank w\ a brand new unit, is it reasonable to think this is the cause of my coral problems? (everyone else seems fine). I understand that large temp fluctuations are bad for a tank, but I don't know exactly how bad is bad? The tank temp wasn't depressed that low for more than 8 hours or so tops before I started warming it back up.

All my water chemistry is well inside acceptable parameters and there haven't been any additions or other unfortunate events-
ph 8.2
ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 10-20
Dont recall PO4 and alkalinity off the top of my head, but they were in the range the local shop told me was desirable.

Thanks!

Depending on what kinda lights were previously on it, they corals could be reacting to the higher light output too. Got a recent move of the established tank, new (and very bright) lights, and a 10 degree temp swing. Probably a lot for corals to get used to all at once. Try to get those 'trates down to 5 or 10 tops.