Faded color on Hippo Tang

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vmalpi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,
I'm new to Aquarium Advice and to Salt Water tanks, i have a my tank for like 3-4 months and have a small 1" Hippo Tang that since yesterday color has faded on his top fin... looks like a round spot.
What can it be? :?:
Here is a Pic.

Attachments

• hippo_tang_spot_214.jpg
    hippo_tang_spot_214.jpg
    34 KB · Views: 181
WELCOME TO AA!!

Can you tell us more about your tank, equipment, other critters?
What are you water parameters?

It can be a number of things, from poor water quality, food, lighting, pH.

Have you introduced any new tank mates recently?

Can your tang flash against anything hot? Looking along the bottom of his belly where the black bleeds into the blue, I see some white spots. Are those artifacts from the picture, or can you see them on him right now? Right side.

If they are there now, it's possible he's got a case of ICH, and the fade could be from that, or flashing against something hot that could have maybe burned him a bit?

Thanks for the quick reply,
Here is my tank details:

Equipment:
36 Gal
Power Compact one 65w 10k and one 65w aticnic
eheim wetdry canister filter (2227 model)
AquaC Remora potein skimmer
UV Light - Coralife
Phosban Phosphate reactor.

Levels (last tested was 4 days ago)

Salt Level - 1.022 and use Tropic Marine Pro Reef Salt mix
Nitrate - 10-20 (i'm due for water change tomorrow, and make weekly 5gal water changes)
Nitrite - 0
Amonia - 0
PH - 8.4
Ca - 350 (i know is low, but that is another topic, have questions on how to increase it)
Alk - 9.0
PO4 - .05

Chemicals i use (i follow the instructions from the bottle lables):
Kent Calcium
Vita Chem vitamines
Kent Coral Vital
Kent Iodine
Kent Strontium
Kent Essential Elements

Food:
Formula 2 pellets with Garlic
Dried Sea Weed
Frozen Missid Shrimp