Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-25-2004, 02:55 PM   #221
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
So basically if I put my hand in the tank at the front and can feel some water movement, we're all good?

I wouldn't exactly describe my flow as "chaotic" though!
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:07 PM   #222
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Do you think I'd be able to keep a clam in my tank, considering my new lighting (2 x 39w white T5s and 2 x 39w actinic T5s)? If I can, would probably get him bigger (4") so I don't have to target feed.

Can they cause any problems in tanks, either with the inhabitants or the water chemistry?
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 10:07 PM   #223
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
And, 2000 views!!! :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 11:00 PM   #224
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
So basically if I put my hand in the tank at the front and can feel some water movement, we're all good?
For the most part yes.

Quote:
I wouldn't exactly describe my flow as "chaotic" though!
As long as the flow isn't circular, your good.

Quote:
Do you think I'd be able to keep a clam in my tank, considering my new lighting (2 x 39w white T5s and 2 x 39w actinic T5s)? If I can, would probably get him bigger (4") so I don't have to target feed.
Anything over 3" shouldn't need much in the way of feeding dependant on species. As far as you getting a clam you might be able to get away with a Durasa or Squamosa. They are no where as color intense as Maxima or Crocea but they definately have their charm.

Quote:
Can they cause any problems in tanks, either with the inhabitants or the water chemistry?
Your chemistry demands may not be kept in check with a clam and just water changes. In a smaller tank the chem demand will increase and possible need the addition of a 2 part alk/Ca or kalk. As long as you are mindful of what fish you choose (no angels) it should co-exist fine with what you've chosen so far. In fact you shouldn't have problems with clams and other coral much at all.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2004, 11:02 PM   #225
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkW19
And, 2000 views!!! :P
On that note....

I think you should start different posts for these various questions. Changing topics so many times with multiple pages makes using this thread as a reference for others quite impossible. Try to stay on topic in future and if the topic changes, begin a new thread

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:10 PM   #226
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Quick question Steve: with the corals hardly adding anything to the bioload, if anything, there's no chance of ammonia etc. if all 6 corals are introduced at once?
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:31 PM   #227
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
As long as all the corals are healthy, there's no reason the levels should change. Just be sure you avoid adding the LFS water where possible.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:33 PM   #228
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
Yeah, I won't be adding any bag water.

Of course, if I added 6 fish at once (or even 2!) then my ammonia is more than likely to go through the roof.

I guess the same isn't true for the corals then as they won't take up much bioload at all. Except of course if they all die :P
__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:39 PM   #229
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Anything that creates waste adds to the biload. Since none of the corals your adding really requires any feedings, they will not add to the bioload. In that regard, you would be the contributor, not the corals.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2004, 04:44 PM   #230
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 1,744
So the corals I'm adding don't create waste? :P
__________________

__________________
MarkW19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coral, corals, first coral

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What else do i need to get my first corals? hemmer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-29-2009 06:26 PM
New Corals OniTweak New Acquisitions 6 12-31-2008 07:34 AM
Corals stinging other corals?? xxnonamexx Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 10-13-2005 12:19 PM
Ok, soft corals, hard corals, What's the difference? Obmanta Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 10-10-2005 06:12 AM
Getting into Corals maxamillion Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 05-04-2005 05:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.