Freshwater dip gone bad?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwculp

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I brought home a new Coral Beauty Angel the other day and acclimated him to the tank and he was doing very well, even ate within minutes of being in the new tank. However, I observed him yesterday scratching himself on the substrate and observed what appeared to be very small white specks on his fins, but not his body. I decided to try a freshwater dip, since I am new to this I was not entirely sure what to do. I had read a few books and websites on the procedure and figured I could do it.

I obtained a clean five gallon bucket and filled it half full with distilled water and added buffer to bring the pH up. I checked temperature and made sure it was the same as the tank temp. I netted the fish and placed him into the freshwater. I left him there for 8 minutes. This is where the instructions varied, some books and websites said to dip for 30 seconds, others to dip for up to 20 minutes.

After 8 minutes I gently netted him and placed him back in the tank. He seemed stunned and disoriented, he had no energy and just hovered in one spot in the tank for hours afterwards. I came in this morning and he seemed well, swimming around and ate vigorously this morning. He seems well, no white spots anymore but the ends of his rear fins and very frayed, could this be a side effect of the freshwater dip?

Yes it could be. It is a good sign that he is swimming and eating. Also I have always heard to dip for 3-5minutes. For a second I thought I was going to read down a little further about the little guy dying. Glad I didnt. :wink:

"his rear fins and very frayed, could this be a side effect of the freshwater dip?"