Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2015, 04:24 AM   #21
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
If it was from the alk, why wouldn't all of the heads be doing the same thing? I'd say this is from moving the powerhead and it is too direct of a flow onto those heads and not the other. That said, such an increase in alk isn't healthy...though I want to say you already mentioned that.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 08:37 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
If it was from the alk, why wouldn't all of the heads be doing the same thing? I'd say this is from moving the powerhead and it is too direct of a flow onto those heads and not the other. That said, such an increase in alk isn't healthy...though I want to say you already mentioned that.
Yes. Also, I have recently cut a lot of my kenya tree in the water. Do you think it released toxins that might've hurt the frogspawn?
__________________

__________________
Eggpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 09:27 PM   #23
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Doubtful, because once again why would it only effect 4 of however many heads?
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 09:35 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Doubtful, because once again why would it only effect 4 of however many heads?
Yes, you're right
__________________
Eggpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 03:15 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Doubtful, because once again why would it only effect 4 of however many heads?
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1425968104444.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	197.1 KB
ID:	266889

Plate dying?
__________________
Eggpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 12:53 PM   #26
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Looks stressed. What are your parameters?
One thing you have to understand when things are going on in your tank, coral are usually more hardy than you'd think. I recently screwed up dosing alk in my tank. Most of the coral didn't care one way or another. Then there were 4 frags that showed signs of tissue recession but everything else is fine. This is easily understood as frags would be the most delicate and they were also sps.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:05 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Looks stressed. What are your parameters?
One thing you have to understand when things are going on in your tank, coral are usually more hardy than you'd think. I recently screwed up dosing alk in my tank. Most of the coral didn't care one way or another. Then there were 4 frags that showed signs of tissue recession but everything else is fine. This is easily understood as frags would be the most delicate and they were also sps.
Remember, my alk was 5 for a while abd then I immediately raised it to 11, which wasn't good, but that was a few weeks ago. Nitrates are 0-5. Salinity yesterday was at 1.024. Alk was at 7 or 8. Calcium 400-420. Phosphates were below the lowest number, forgot what that was. Are the leds strong for it? The other day I dropped pellets on it, maybe that wasn't good. I read plates just don't do well. I purchased it a few weeks ago
__________________
Eggpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:40 PM   #28
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
If you have a frogspawn at the top of the tank, the lighting isn't too strong for a plate at the bottom.
I would simply just make sure you aren't adding anything new to the tank and aim for stability at this time. The constant ups and downs is probably part of the issue going on.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 01:59 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
If you have a frogspawn at the top of the tank, the lighting isn't too strong for a plate at the bottom.
I would simply just make sure you aren't adding anything new to the tank and aim for stability at this time. The constant ups and downs is probably part of the issue going on.

Not going to add anything for a while. The BRS dosing kit is coming in so I can stabilize KH/CA. I have been slowly raising the LED power, maybe I should've raised it faster. So if I turn the power all the way up would it be bad for the frogspawn and hammer at the top of the tank? For the future , do I need to place the frogspawn and hammer on the bottom if I turn the power up all the way? Or can they acclimate to the 100% power.
__________________
Eggpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2015, 05:52 PM   #30
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Coral can acclimate to 100% power on these units...though personally I don't recommend it.
I run 2 gen 2 Radions over my 55 tank. I've struggled to keep some LPS happy though the past, to include plate coral. It took quite some time to figure out some of the lighting schedules and many emails back and forth from Ecotech to where they informed me that they run their units at only 60% intensity! I say this because even though I run at 60%, I can still keep SPS in my sandbed. Just some food for thought there.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frog, spawn

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sick frog spawn? MiniReef2004 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 05-11-2004 11:16 PM
Frog spawn question MrWrasse Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 04-22-2004 12:53 PM
Frog Spawn Coral ddcboys Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 02-03-2004 08:05 PM
Frog Spawn question? blancoh2o Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 12-29-2003 03:10 PM
Clowns picked frog spawn over anenomie maiceman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 12-11-2002 11:20 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.