Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-09-2015, 07:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Going fallow

Can I run the Dt with just the protein skimmer? So I can transfer the hob to the qt?

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 11:42 AM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Are you asking if you can have the skimmer in a HOB situation on the back of the display and not in the sump?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 01:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Sorry. I'm thinking about pulling everyone to a new qt/hospital tank for id the dt of ick, and then ensure qt for all new fish - kind of a start over. Seeing my DT is still new I want to carry over as much BB as I can. I was wondering if while going fishless in the DT do I need to run mechanical filtration or if the protein skimmer will be enough, and for how long. There will be a few invert left but no fish. It is a 90 gallon and the skimmer is a bh2000. My mechanical is an AC110, and this is what I want to place on the QT/hospital.

Would that be enough BB for kick start the hospital tank or will I cycle?

I'm looking at a 40 breeder.
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 01:40 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
There won't be any fish in the display, so there won't be food or poop to remove from the system. No need to run filtration on it.
If you want to move the filter over to the QT, that will work. If you are treating with copper you will want to make sure none of the filter media/filter floss comes back over to the display tank.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 03:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
2 more question if I can:

I see everyone uses white PVC, any issues using black? Do I have to clean it?
Also was planning on using crazy glue to glue them together some caves. Any issues re-using the PCV aqua scape again if I do treat with cooper?
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 04:29 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Any PVC would be fine as long as it doesn't have any copper components in it.
As for glue, you want 100% cyanoacrylate. I like loctite super glue gel personally.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 10:12 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 220
I think those black PVC are lower grade if I remember correctly. Somehow when u comparing them side by side black seems to be thinner.

Sent from my SM-N910T using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Toffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 08:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 48
Getting ready to make the switch. How's my Orange dotted sand siftting go by going to be without sand?

Sent from my HTC One using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
flipper0512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 12:30 PM   #9
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Should be fine. My watchman ate food from the water column b


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 12:38 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by flipper0512 View Post
Sorry. I'm thinking about pulling everyone to a new qt/hospital tank for id the dt of ick, and then ensure qt for all new fish - kind of a start over. Seeing my DT is still new I want to carry over as much BB as I can. I was wondering if while going fishless in the DT do I need to run mechanical filtration or if the protein skimmer will be enough, and for how long. There will be a few invert left but no fish. It is a 90 gallon and the skimmer is a bh2000. My mechanical is an AC110, and this is what I want to place on the QT/hospital.

Would that be enough BB for kick start the hospital tank or will I cycle?

I'm looking at a 40 breeder.
first question;
are you going to be treating the quarantine tank with copper or similar medications?
if not than I wouldn't move anything over from the suspect DT for fear of transferring the parasites as well, especially in the filter media where they are more likely to be trapped.
whether or not your filter will suffice in the QT depends on the stocking load, but I'm going to make the assumption of no, it will not be enough.
frequent water changes are the most sure fire way to maintain quality in a quarantine tank.

with just a few inverts left in the DT, good water circulation should suffice if the live rock is still viable.
__________________

__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unanswered questions about going fallow FishStarter89 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 08-13-2014 01:36 PM
After 7 weeks of going fallow due to a brooklynella outbreak brunkdent Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 25 04-14-2012 08:16 PM
Facing facts - ich confirmed, going fallow don_chuwish Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 20 04-10-2012 04:06 PM
letting tank go fallow bosslady Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 04-19-2004 06:01 PM
Starting Over....sort of...Fallow and QT help needed gefilte Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 2 03-22-2004 08:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.