Hammer & Frogspawn Corals Not Opening

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fort384

Dividing by 0
Site Team
First off, I am very new to coral & SW tanks in general - this is my first reef tank/SW tank. I bought a nice hammer coral from my LFS yesterday and it opened up somewhat yesterday after acclimation but never as full as it was in the LFS. Today I came home from work and it is not open at all.

Tank specs:
57 gal tank, 20 gal sump. Newly established (running for about 3-4 weeks). Stock is only 2 small percula clowns at the moment and some tiny hermit crabs.

Lighting: 2 AI SOL pods, set to 50% white 65% blue intensity. 3 hour ramp up from 0 to that, 4 hours at that intensity setting, 3 hour ramp down to 4% blue (moonlights).

Flow: eheim 1262 return and 2 Vortech MP10s running on ECOSmart mode during the day, night mode at lights out. Powerheads are each 4-6" under the surface, pointing roughly at each other, and set to ~70% of max speed.

Skimmer: BG NAC 3, collecting about 1/3 cup a day

All other corals seem to be doing fine and are all open: several zoa colonies, some daisy polyps, and a frogspawn.

Water Parameters:
0 NH4
0 NO2
10-20ppm NO3
0.12ppm PO4
9.8dKH
1.025 SG
460 ppm Calcium

So any thoughts? Too much flow? Not enough light? Too much light?

Thanks all!

Attachments

• IMG_0382.jpg
    IMG_0382.jpg
    139.2 KB · Views: 852
  • IMG_0383.jpg
    IMG_0383.jpg
    165.5 KB · Views: 323
If they are getting too much flow they will stay closed up. Mine like a little calmer area. The flow should be just enough to sway them a little.

Hmm ok, maybe that is it. It is moving around quite a bit - sometimes kind of violently. LOL Unfortunately I am not sure I have an area of lower flow. Maybe I didn't need 2 MP10s...