Help Fish are dying cant figure it out

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

salt2hard4me

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi I am new at this whole saltwater adventure. I have mastered discus and thought I would now try my luck at saltwater I cant believe how
hard it is. I have done tons of research but it seems hopeless. All my corals/amenones are alive and two damsels are alive - those are the only things that will live - all my other fish died within 24 hours of each other. they are fine one day then covered with white spots and dead the next day. All my water levels are correct - if it is a parasite why aren't the damsels dying. Someone please help me - I am ready to take the tank down and give up on saltwater.

Can you give us the "skinny" on your tank - size, how long it has been set up, filtration, equipment, all water parameter readings, etc. From there, we can better help narrow down what is happening.

Off the top of my head it sounds as if either (1) too many fish added too quickly and/or (2) a nasty case of SW ich -- some fish are more resistant to this than others, or ... a combination of both.

Are you quarantining the new fish before you add them to your main tank?

The more info. you can offer us, the better.

Damsel are very tough and will survive in conditions that others would not !
As RL said , pobably a bad Ick attack and since you have corals and anemones you cannot treat the tank so my suggestion would be to take out the damse and let the tank empty for at least 4 weeks ( I know it's difficult ) until the parasite dies since they could not find hosts !
JMO

Thanks for responding.