Help with Diagnoses/treatment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alarmguy66

Aquarium Advice Freak
I dont want this to turn ugly like some other posts, but if it does I will respond in kind. Fair warning issued.

3 days ago I purchased a yellow tang from the LFS. 4 were in the tank there, I examined the remaining 3 today and all still look fine. Mine does not.

The night I purchased it I brought it home and placed it in the QT tank. I am new to sw but I had to set one up last week because of a stressed damsel I was losing. The tang looked fine that night, but had a "rough" appearance, instead of a smooth look. The next morning its covered with white "pimples". I immediately prepared a FW bath and dipped it for 3 minutes. Some of the spots went away. Today I can see very few on it. The damsel is in hiding, cant examine it.

I have read a ton of posts and articles on ich, its diagnoses/misdiagnoses, and treatment. I read Terry Bs articles, as well as martin moes in the Marine aquarium handbook and all I could find on this and other sites. I am proceeding as follows, please give me some feedback on my actions.

THe salinity in the qt tank is being lowered, temp raised slowly. I added 7 drops (10 gall tank) Quick-Cure, which is formalin and Malachite Green. The label says add 1 drop per gallon, I am playing it safe. I will observe the fish for signs of stress and change 5 gal if noticed. I also purchased some Organi-Cure (copper and formaldehyde) I plan on using that after the first week of Quick cure treatment (and complete water change) to finish eradicating the Ich.

First of all, does ICH appear so suddenly? Seems really fast to me. Is my diagnoses correct or could it be something else?

Second, why are the fish at the LFS unaffected, while mine showed signs so quickly?

Lastly, is my line of treatment ok?