Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 10-26-2012, 12:39 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
Cool High Nitrates (Pink) help ! new to salt water

so I am new to this. I am using a 65 gallon tank with a Oceanic Sump protein skimmer system. Also have a couple flowheads in there as well. Probably have 60+ pounds of live rock in there.

As for fish I Have (1) Trigger (Niger) - (2) clownfish- (2) blue damsels or some small fish and (2) small tetras for some small black/white fish. (1) blue starfish , (1) chocolate chip starfish (3) snails

I had a Dog face puffer poor guy jumped out of tank overnight after I had put a tang in there ..man was i devestated..such an affecionate fish !

Well Tang was sick from beginning i think,,,had ich,,progressed fast...died today..a week after I got her...she was a powdernose tang..**** crappy fishstores

So I am not using RO water but using the Cholorine eliminator and nitrate eliminator yet when I test my tank its high in the "pink" . I do have some waste on bottom of tank, will be hard to vaccum with the live sand but ill give it a try. How much water should I change and how often?

Should I get a filter to put in top main tank that attaches to side of tank and filters it with a micron filter or whatever? any info will help..ph is stable and saliinity is stable at 1.025-6 ....planning on getting another dog face puffer but want to stablize tank first. Thanks

Jaygza01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 12:54 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
obscurereef's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
That's a large bio load. So you're using tap water? This means you prob. have high phosphate levels which are nutrients for hair algae. It seem that you are using test strips instead of a test kit? It's very important that you get accurate readings so I suggest investing in something like an API standard SW test kit. Don't vacuum the sand, it will disturb the life and can cause more nitrates. For water changes, I do 10% every week. I suggest you research some more before buying anything else as it seems you are making some mistakes you could avoid.

“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:10 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12
yes tap water with amquel or whatever it is and yes I do have "hair alage" and I am using a Master test kit. I will not vaccum the sand but how do i get the waste off of the top of the sand? I will not be buying anything else until everything is right. Now I have been adding around 4 gallons a week or more to sump tank since it goes down often, is that where I should be adding my new water or directly to the tank...looking into an RO water system.
Thanks for your help ...ill do some water changes later tonight or tomm morning.
Jaygza01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 07:34 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
bavass's Avatar

POTM Champion
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Waynesboro Virginia
Posts: 1,797
Your algae is coming from the tap water and the bio load. You need to invest in an ro/di unit from bulkreefsupply, take out some fish thats a huge bioload on that tank and way to early for a new tank. I would also look into a reactor to run GFO to lower phosphates
bavass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 12

The tank is has been running for around 4 months..I used Live sand with argonite that cycles your tank quickly. Is that really too many fish for a 65 gallon? it looks like a pretty big tank and they have a ton of room. The fish are all small..biggest thing is the chocolate chip starfish. Could I add an extra filter to make up for the bio load?

so what is the easiest way to get nitrates down and quickly if possible..they are high. Anything besides constant massive water changes?

Jaygza01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:33 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
Lunchbox209's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
What are all your other parameters reading even thought they are small those fish produce a ton of crap example all the stuff on your sand bed. To remove those doo doo pieces you might have to get another power head to keep the poo suspended and able to get filtered out by your sump. As far as lowering nitrates its going to be really hard because you are using tap water which could contain nitrates test your tap if no nitrates appear then just keep doing water changes to lower those trates buy I would highly recommend a rodi unit best purchase your would make.

Lunchbox209 is offline   Reply With Quote

high nitrate, high nitrates, new to salt water, nitrates, pink, salt, salt water, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.