how can i tell if my clown fish is stessed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

honeysuckle11

Aquarium Advice Freak
so i got a 30 gallon tank running. all my levels seem to be fine. i had it running for 2 weeks and was told i could put 2 clown fish if i put a bottle of start cycle inthe tank when i got fish. so i have 2 clown fish and the seem to love the one spot on the glass but will swim arounf the tank alittle. sometimes will eat good and sometimes wont. Sometimes they open they mouth and close it alot for couple mins then stop. but them seem to love that one spot on the glass and are always side by side. i had them in my tank about a week now. Any help plz i dont want to lose my fish?

I'm a newbie too...but from the experience I have had so far I have learned that that instant cycle stuff can be harmful to the fish and doesn't really work. So your tank is going to need to cycle. You're going to have to do water changes very frequently and watch the ammonia level closely. Hopefully more experienced people will chime in, but that's my take on it. Good luck...I hope they are ok!

Well I did a water change today and add stress coat fpr the fish. I leave the house for 4 hours and come home and one die and other looks stress out too. I'm feel like he may die over night. What can I do? If he dies I'm letting the tank sit for another 3 week or getting damsels

If it dies let it set for a few weeks keep up the water changes and test the water and check for ammo spikes.

What all do you have in the tank?
Sand rock cuc?

Your tank has not cycled. Never add fish until your cycle is complete and you know this by testing. And when you do add, go slow. Big changes cause big problems and they happen fast in a 30 gallon tank.