Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-16-2011, 08:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
Question How much ammonia do you get in your QT?

Hello,
I'm looking for some peoples experience with QT tanks. I was wondering what people have found with ammonia production in their QT tanks over a 24 hour period. Amount of ammonia and volume of water changed every day, for a few days would be a great set of numbers to work with. As well as how many of what kind/size of fish.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 08:41 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
I don't get any NH3 readings in any QT's I've ever set up because I perform 50% water changes daily. As for sizing and type of fish, it all depends. I could easily house 2 angelfish at 4", 2 wrasses at 3", and 2 misc. fish separated by a divider quite easily. However, if I was purchasing a large school of chromis, butterflyfish, or clownfish I might want to segregate them separately depending on socializations, aggressiveness, and as always disease expectations.
__________________

Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:22 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
So what you are saying is that there in your experience you have never gotten even 0.25 ppm of ammonia as long as you did 50% water changes?
__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:36 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Mine have always registered as 0, even using a Hach. By performing 50% water changes (I do use a sponge filter) daily I prevent a cycle altogether while allowing bacteria to slowly multiply (doesn't really matter since I use meds).
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:44 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
Okay... anyone else? I'm trying to get a baseline of ammonia production of fish (volume).
__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 10:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i don't use them. sorry. but i'll tag along for the info if you all don't mind.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:08 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
medic747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 188
Im with mr x!!
__________________
55 gal. FW chiclid
10 gal. FW feeder breeder
medic747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
WendiDell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: McMinnville, Oregon
Posts: 1,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenmaster View Post
Okay... anyone else? I'm trying to get a baseline of ammonia production of fish (volume).
What do you mean by baseline production? Different fish produce different amounts of ammonia. I wouldn't want my fish to spend more than a few hours in ammonia .25ppm. Ammonia can make your fish sick as can nitrites and higher nitrates. So I guess base line ammonia should be zero. Which is why I test every day.
__________________
WendiDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 12:30 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,462
Noga has a baseline for open systems, but I don't know if it can be applied in some fashion to a closed QT.
Innovator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:35 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 2,398
Anyone got any numbers? I'm trying to do some research here, so any numbers you have would help... Okay I'm looking for ammonia production of fish so that I can do some calculations. Any fish even if they are all different. I'm just looking for some numbers I can work with here...
__________________

__________________
Sometimes life is best left to it's own devices.
If your not happy at what you're looking at, you're looking at it the wrong way.
My 320g tank build in progress watch at ---> http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f71/320g-build-journey-experiment-128784.html
Greenmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia D: Flake Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 07-11-2009 07:15 PM
How much ammonia caudelfin Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 08-14-2005 11:23 PM
Ammonia??? Mazdaman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 04-20-2005 08:17 PM
Found Ammonia for you fishless ammonia cyclers at Ace TomK2 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 03-22-2005 05:06 PM
Can't get ammonia down Mercury64 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-26-2005 08:21 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.