Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-25-2010, 03:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
How to remove silicone poisoning from tank?

Hi everyone!

This is a new thread linked to my last one. I believe we narrowed it down to poisoning from silicone I used to seal my sump/overflow (GE Silicone II Window & Door). I only let it cure for 24 hours and think this may have been the cause for my fish to die within a short 12-20 hour time span.

NOW... how do I remove this? Besides removing all traces of the old silicone & applying new correct silicone + proper wait time, what else is needed?

100% water change? Frequent partial water changes? Rinse LR in RO/DI water, or in mixed saltwater? LS rinse? Tank cleaning with rubbing alcohol/vinegar? (acrylic tank with acrylic overflow, glass sump with glass baffles)

I'm headed for a long week I think. I was planning this tank upgrade for months.
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Just curious... would the silicone finish curing while underwater? How about using carbon and many water changes to help dilute & eventually remove any toxins?

Any help is greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:29 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Do you have an RO/DI unit?
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, California
Posts: 819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo7 View Post
Do you have an RO/DI unit?
Looks like you're the only one responding Jimbo... thank you

Yes, I have an RO/DI. Water sits in food grade holding tanks in my garage. 1 55 gal tank for fresh, the other for mixed saltwater.
__________________
~~Rob
RLG2182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:38 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
You have an abnormal question otherwise I think people would help more.

I'm PURELY shooting in the dark here, but maybe pump water out of tank/sump through the RO/DI and put it all right back into the tank, waste and clean hose line. If its going to filter it out, it will get caught in the filters, and since it was already filtered once, the waste line is going to be pretty clean as well. This is a complete guess, its the most advanced filter I can think of off the top of my head.

Concerns:
Will it filter out the salt?
Check the tank salinity, and then the salinity coming out. you might have to top off with some super saturated saltwater or just add straight salt somehow.

Anyone have anymore thoughts? I'll get Pat and see if he has anything.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Or maybe just add a DI filter compartment somehow? I know they sell just DI resin, but Im not sure if it has to be pressurized to work?

Carbon for now is a good idea while we try and sort this out.

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/...-canister.html

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/...nization-resin

lol sorry I keep adding stuff and editing.
__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 01:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
I assume you don't have any fish in the tank right now. I would suggest just emptying all the water and starting with fresh mixed saltwater once you replace the silicone.

Quote:
This is a new thread linked to my last one. I believe we narrowed it down to poisoning from silicone I used to seal my sump/overflow (GE Silicone II Window & Door).
Not sure if this is a typo but i believe that GE selicone II is the window and bath stuff. This has a mildew prevention chemical in it that will poison your tank for sure. You need to use GE silicon I. Also to answer your other question the silicon may finsih curing under water but i strongly suggest that you let it completely cure before you add any water. Often when something like silicon or glue is drying it releases things you really don't want in your tank. It can only be trusted to be inert once it has completely cured.

The liverock you can rinse in saltwater. I would take it out and put it in a container with fresh mixed saltwater and some high flow. This will help flush out all the water in the rock. I would say use RO/DI water but it would be hard to rinse it will without loseing all the bacteria from your cycle.

You can leave the sand in the tank and rinse that well with RO/DI water. Fill it so that the water is a couple inches over the sand and then get in there and dig it up real well. I would flush it again if you have the patience after it settles.

I'm sure it is tempting to try and reuse or clean the water you have in the tank now but i think it would be very difficult to properly clean and the risk of putting in more live stock and having it die again would be somewhat high if i had to take a guess. It just isn't worth the frusteration of losing more fish.

After you have finished all of this i would run a good amount of carbon in the tank for a couple days just to be on the safe side. Also put in another shrimp for a day or two and test your ammonia to see if your tank is still cycled after this ordeal. You do indeed have a long week ahead of you. I am very sorry for your troubles.

EDIT: sorry for repeating a few things you already knew. I just went back and read the other thread you linked to trying to figure out what the problem is. I have found that clowns are some of the most durable fish out there which is the only reason i can think of that they would survive and the rest wouldn't. Do you have a QT tank you can put them in for a while?
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 02:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
Also i'm not positive on this but i believe filtering saltwater through your ro/di unit is really hard on the filter. I wouldn't suggest it unless you are willing to replace the membrane and resins and all that afterwards.
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 12:35 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat8you View Post
Also i'm not positive on this but i believe filtering saltwater through your ro/di unit is really hard on the filter. I wouldn't suggest it unless you are willing to replace the membrane and resins and all that afterwards.
Yeah, don't do that, that would be bad.
__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 12:46 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jimbo7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,996
Haha, hence why I prefaced that post with purely shooting in the dark. Someone had posted a thread awhile back that their "friend" was doing that in him sump to prevent water changes.

What about just running it through a separate DI cartridge and resin?
__________________

__________________
Links to old builds:
12DX LED Build
Frag Tank (Fixed Link)
Dorm Pico Tank
Jimbo7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
poisoning, silicone, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can regular Lowes silicone go in a tank? austinsdad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 04-14-2006 09:18 AM
This Silicone sealant safe to use (glass tank) 1brent1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-19-2005 02:57 PM
The silicone in my tank is stained An t-iasg Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 08-25-2003 07:15 AM
What do you use to clean/prep a tank before silicone? targaboy78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 11-20-2002 01:10 PM
Is GE Silicone I (100% silicone) OK for use in tanks? targaboy78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-15-2002 07:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.