Hyposalinity - worked great for Ich!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pghjeff71

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've been keeping fish for over 10 years now and I guess my arrogance got the better of me, because I added a Lawnmower Blenny to my 75G aquarium without QT and well...Ich.

Anyways I setup a QT tank and followed the advice on using hyposalinity and four weeks into it now my fish are doing fantastic, no signs of flashing or the dreaded white spots. :arrow: My thanks go to Quarryshark, Steve-S and Lando as I've read your many posts and you guys sure know your stuff!

I haven't lost any fish (yellow tang, pygmy angel, clown, wrasse, blenny) even with the battle of ammonia and now nitrites. My wrasse really acted strange in the beginning (he just layed on his side and I thought for sure he was a goner) but he since has become his "old self".

I just wanted to say that hyposalinity works great and causes no obvious stress as compared to using Copper (which I used YEARS ago). You can be sure I'll QT any new fish in the future :oops:

If not for this site I wouldn't have made it this far so I felt compelled to make a donation and I hope everyone using this site does too. Even "old timers" learn something new daily here!

- Jeff

(edited to add additional AA members to thank)

Hi, I'm using a 29 Gallon for my QT, with an Aquaclear 300 for the filtration. I've had to do water changes almost daily but now that the ammonia has settled I'm hoping the nitrite levels will be right around on the corner.

If not for this site I wouldn't have made it this far so I felt compelled to make a donation and I hope everyone using this site does too.

Well said. Lotta perks for those who do contribute. Get to wear that "AA Alumni" tag proudly and get more storage space for your gallery too.