Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-04-2014, 03:15 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Id recommend a reactor and phosguard to help with the cyano. With high phosphates the phosguard will exhaust quickly, but its some potent stuff. Works great if you change it every 3 days until your phosphates are under control. Then you can go a couple Weeks or so between changes, just depends on the bioload.
__________________

__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:07 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheGrapeApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 246
Okay so for now I can just use a liquid phosphate buster?
__________________

__________________
TheGrapeApe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:21 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheGrapeApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 246
I just started looking for a reactor I never knew anything about this
__________________
TheGrapeApe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:38 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Define liquid phosphate buster, do you mean like chemiclean? If so, I would strongly advise to stear clear.

For reactors get something like a BRS reactor or phosban reactor. I have both and like both, I favor the phosban since its smaller.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 04:41 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
00youknowit00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montgomery, Texas
Posts: 1,562
Your primary nutrient exporter should still be water changes, but the reactor will just make it easier to keep parameters low.
__________________
The hardest thing about this hobby, is having a budget..
Everyone has questions
00youknowit00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 06:03 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheGrapeApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 246
So the reactor lets you to just put media in there like phosphate buster right. I'm looking for possible hookup pictures on here.
__________________
TheGrapeApe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:52 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 21
Hey man there is no need to worry about a nitrate shock when I did it my nitrates were off the charts 160 ppm or so maybe more and everything in my tank was fine just try to have to ph salinity and temp as close as possible but you mentioned your ph was already in the 8 range so you should be fine with a large water change
__________________
JMance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 08:58 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 21
But like you said revamping your sump might be a good idea as they can harbor nitrates and so can your substrate I literally just did this same procedure about a month ago cleaned my sump modified it to add a refugium and replaced my substrate...a month later now and I'm already starting to put in sps my tank is doing great everything is flourishing
__________________
JMance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 12:26 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
TheGrapeApe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 246
Is a calcium reactor the same as a phosphate reactor can you put any media in any reactor?
__________________
TheGrapeApe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 01:53 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Diego
Posts: 21
I'm not sure I don't have any reactors
__________________

__________________
JMance is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ick, sick, lighting, coral

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think they are trying to pair up? Male and female kribensis i think!? Chronos313 Cichlid Discussion 2 02-18-2013 03:10 AM
my starfish is all closed up! Smonkey15 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 1 12-18-2003 02:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.