Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2015, 08:07 PM   #21
Macro Addict
Community Moderator
 
54seaweed's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 7,524
not one tank out there is phosphate free 0 reading is reason to be concerned
almost every tank has a trace of phosphate .03 is the most common if its lower at 0 or higher above .03 there's reason to be concerned

When I ask about algae I'm asking about nuisance not macro
there are 2 types of algae 1 good as the other is bad
yes both consume excess nutrients but macro's tend not to hide nutrients as they don't absorb 100%
nuisance algae tends to mask excess nutrients as they absorb almost all
this link explains it better than I can as I am bad with wording
Algae and How It Can Affect Your Aquarium
I have been working with macros for almost 5 years and learned a lot
like any thing there's always more to learn , but for the part about how they absorb nutrients it is very different , macro algae if used correctly can be your best friend
they need constant trimming to remove the ends holding the nutrients they act as a sponge they absorb a good amount of the excess nutrients but at the same time will not hide nutrients to the point of a 0 reading as only the first 4 inch will consume nutrients , with nuisance algae they absorb almost of the nutrients as the whole organism absorbs nutrients giving false readings as this algae grows masking the issues those nutrients can cause
__________________

__________________
Save
54seaweed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 08:41 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,237
I agree with PB.
Something is going on.
Ammonia needs a source.
What do feed your fish/inverts and how often?
I use API tets kits and it is 0 or .25.
My tank may be .03 or almost anything below .25 and possibly read zero.
But the API kit will not show.
These kits require judgement and deciphering at times IMO.
__________________

__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 08:51 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by earlysteven View Post
I think it has to be my water source my ppm are 66 now ughhh


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
What is your water source?
66ppm of what? Ammonia!
__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 10:13 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Cali
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54seaweed View Post
not one tank out there is phosphate free 0 reading is reason to be concerned
almost every tank has a trace of phosphate .03 is the most common if its lower at 0 or higher above .03 there's reason to be concerned

When I ask about algae I'm asking about nuisance not macro
there are 2 types of algae 1 good as the other is bad
yes both consume excess nutrients but macro's tend not to hide nutrients as they don't absorb 100%
nuisance algae tends to mask excess nutrients as they absorb almost all
this link explains it better than I can as I am bad with wording
Algae and How It Can Affect Your Aquarium
I have been working with macros for almost 5 years and learned a lot
like any thing there's always more to learn , but for the part about how they absorb nutrients it is very different , macro algae if used correctly can be your best friend
they need constant trimming to remove the ends holding the nutrients they act as a sponge they absorb a good amount of the excess nutrients but at the same time will not hide nutrients to the point of a 0 reading as only the first 4 inch will consume nutrients , with nuisance algae they absorb almost of the nutrients as the whole organism absorbs nutrients giving false readings as this algae grows masking the issues those nutrients can cause
I'm sorry but that logic is still flawed. If algae is growing in the display to a point of nuisance, than yes, there is/may be an issue with too many excess nutrients present and the algae isn't "masking" them, but rather is an indicator that something is amiss.
But to give the impression that you are getting false readings is erroneous.
You make it sound as if there is still free nitrate and phosphate present in concentrations that would cause harm, BUT because there is algae in the tank, your test kit won't detect it, which is completely wrong.

That article you linked really doesn't say much except for the mere basics concerning algae control and how it impacts an aquarium and some of the info is incorrect.
__________________
PB_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2015, 10:58 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
earlysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 411
I feed a cube a day and miss one day on the weekends but I am using the API test kit . And my aquatic life ro unit is what's putting 66ppm out . My display is over run with algae but I'm not using anything besides calcium and alk . I am doing a 50 percent water change as we speak and cleaned my sump it was disgusting I did not touch my sand bed but I did redo my plumbing and sump completely today .


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
earlysteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 07:56 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by earlysteven View Post
I feed a cube a day and miss one day on the weekends but I am using the API test kit . And my aquatic life ro unit is what's putting 66ppm out . My display is over run with algae but I'm not using anything besides calcium and alk . I am doing a 50 percent water change as we speak and cleaned my sump it was disgusting I did not touch my sand bed but I did redo my plumbing and sump completely today .


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Change filters in the ro or get a better one.
The water should be zero if the unit is performing properly.
Low pressure can lower the efficiency of the unit also.
Does the unit have DI?
__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 11:27 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I change out my filters when my tds reads 6 or so...not 66. Did anyone address flow inside the tank? Can I see a closer fts?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 02:03 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
earlysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 411
Ya the filters I just bought about four months ago and it only sat at ten I just got tired of messing with the unit and yes it is di


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
earlysteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 02:39 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 5,237
It's all about your source water IMO!
You got to get it to 0TDS and then the algae will reduce and you can deal with the normal headaches(Po4,silica....).
__________________
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 03:00 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
earlysteven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 411
Lol ya I agree I hauled water when I did my 50 percent so maybe it'll help


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
earlysteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ideas, pump, gph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Sea C Skim 1800 Protein Skimmer Keithhjs Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-17-2012 12:25 AM
Red Sea C-Skim 1800 mattinlasvegas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 10-08-2011 05:17 AM
Red Sea 1800 skimmer Gregcoyote General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 08-11-2011 08:57 PM
Need 1800 gph for a 120. Pump suggestion? runway1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-07-2005 11:39 AM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.