Im getting an aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
R

Rudy_627

Hey i'm thinking about getting some saltwater fish and an aquarium what should i get??? cause i'm new at this fish keeping

I'd start with Freshwater if I were you. If you do start with Salt, take it SLOW and ask lots of questions here.

Do you want corals eventually or just fish?

i dont really know are corals good for this fish cause i want a big tank.... but a cheap one cause my dad used to have an aquarium but something happend and too much copper got into the water and the fish died so are corals good?

the reason why saltwater fish is cause the beauty of them and thier color

If any amount of copper gets into the tank, you'll lose all of you invertebrates, including most corals.

Corals are just another animal, some like them some don't. They demand excellent water condtion and a great deal of patience. they're generally expensive too - especially when you're starting off and killing $30-$40 corals.

125 gallons is a good starter tank. It's big enough that changes in water quality can be detected before everything dies. The bigger the better to start.

You'll most likely want live rock whether you're going Fish-Only or not.

whats "Live Rock"?????? and how much is a 125 gallon tank and is that big?

125 gallons will most likely be at least 5 feet long... checked some "standard" charts and they list a 125 generally at 72 1/2 x 18 1/2 x 23 3/8. What does this mean to you? Easier time in the long run, since any change you make in the tank will have to be that much bigger in order for you to make a large mistake. Bigger tanks are more forgiving.