Invertebrates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NCClaudson

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I am a newbie to the saltwater aquarium. I recently inherited a Oceanic 58 gal. display aquarium from my father. It came with the lights, tank, sump, coral, fish, crabs, snails, etc., etc. I knew when we moved it, about a month ago now, that there was a good possibility that we would lose some of the inhabitants of the tank but that didn't occur until two weeks had past. Suddenly, overnight, the fire shrimp, starfish, some of the crabs, all of the snails, and the majority of the fantails all died. I took a water sample to my local pet store and had it tested. The PH was a little off and the nitrites had spiked so I took the appropriate measures to correct these problems. Now, however, even though my water is testing out perfect just about every day, my tank will still not support any live snails. I put them in and they die in about a 24 to 48 hour period. I'm kind of using them as guiney pigs to test when I can put other replacements back into the tank yet even these will not live. I have had some success with crabs. They seem fine. The store also tested for copper in the water and it shows not even the slightest trace elements of the metal. Is there anyone that might have an idea what else could be going wrong? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, NC. :wink:

NCClaudson,